Share:
Product Details
  • Author: Clare Furniss
More Info
Free Delivery On All UK Orders

The Year of the Rat

Product Code
9781471120282
Full of bittersweet humour and heartbreaking honesty about loss, love and learning to move on, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Maggie O'Farrell.

NOT AVAILABLE TO PURCHASE SEPARATELY

£7.99
The Year of the Rat
The Year of the Rat
The Year of the Rat
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase prize and longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, this sensitive and beautifully written novel will stay with you. I always thought you'd know, somehow, if something terrible was going to happen. I thought you'd sense it, like when the air goes damp and heavy before a storm and you know you'd better hide yourself away somewhere safe until it all blows over. But it turns out it's not like that at all. There's no scary music playing in the background like in films. No warning signs. Not even a lonely magpie. One for sorrow, Mum used to say. Quick, look for another. The world can tip at any moment ...a fact that fifteen-year-old Pearl is all too aware of when her mum dies after giving birth to her baby sister. Told across the year following her mother's death, Pearl's story is full of bittersweet humour and heartbreaking honesty about how you deal with grief that cuts you to the bone, as she tries not only to come to terms with losing her mum, but also the fact that her sister - The Rat - is a constant reminder of why her mum is no longer around...
More Information
Author Clare Furniss